Home / Content / US-Japan Binational Photosynthesis Workshop (UJBPW)

Welcome to US-Japan Binational Photosynthesis Workshop (UJBPW)

NEW! Please register soon!

Registration site:

Early Bird registration deadline: October 13, 2023 (note that registration after this deadline may make you ineligible for the dinner on the last night)

Final registration deadline: October 26, 2023

Important points:

  • If you have any dietary restrictions, please email Kathleen Tucker at ktucker@asu.edu and let her know before October 13.
  • For those who do not wish to attend the excursion and dinner on the last evening, please email Kathleen Tucker at ktucker@asu.edu for a $50 discount on your registration, which will be reimbursed after the conference is over.)

Information about the Workshop

Venue: Arizona State University (ASU), Tempe campus

Dates: November 6-8, 2023

Tentative program: View the program

Organizer: Kevin Redding (ASU)

Co-organizers: Graham Peers (Colorado State Univ.), Chihiro Azai (Chuo Univ., Tokyo)

Description of workshop and aim of support
The primary goal of the UJBPW is to facilitate interaction and productive collaboration between scientists based in Japan and the U.S. who work on the mechanisms of energy transduction carried out by phototrophic organisms. Due to boundaries of geography and culture, communication and collaboration between US and Japanese scientists working in the field has not always been optimal. The UJBPW will overcome these boundaries by holding a relatively small conference where people can discuss results and ideas freely. Our emphasis is on scientific diversity and promotion of younger researchers. This meeting will give graduate students the opportunity to meet the people whose papers they have been reading, and perhaps find a postdoctoral position, which is a great way to forge scientific links across national boundaries, a goal of the ISPR.

Conference Venue
This conference will take place on the ASU campus on November 6-8. We have reserved the Ballroom of the beautiful Old Main building for the talks, posters and lunches. It is located in the heart of ASU and there are many amenities in convenient walking distance. The low cost to the organizer results in registration fees for attendees that are quite low (see below).

Speakers from Japan:

  1. Ritsuko Fujii (Osaka Metropolitan University)
  2. Yuichi Fujita (Nagoya University)
  3. Yukako Hihara (Saitama University)
  4. Kentaro Ifuku (Kyoto University)
  5. Kaori Kohzuma (Kyoto University)
  6. Makiko Kosugi (National Institute for Basic Biology)
  7. Shinji Masuda (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  8. Jun Minagawa (National Institute for Basic Biology)
  9. Yuri Munekage (Kwansei Gakuin University)
  10. Yuki Okegawa (Okayama University)
  11. Wataru Sakamoto (Okayama University)
  12. Toshiharu Shikanai (Kyoto University)
  13. Kintake Sonoike (Waseda University)

Speakers from the U.S.:

  1. Jessica Anna (University of Pennsylvania)
  2. Mike Behrenfeld (Oregon State University)
  3. Petra Fromme (Arizona State University)
  4. Christopher Gisriel (Yale University)
  5. Laurie Leonelli (University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana)
  6. Yuval Mazor (Arizona State University)
  7. Kris Niyogi (University of California at Berkeley)
  8. Himadri Pakrasi (Washington University at St. Louis)
  9. Wendy Schlucter (University of New Orleans)
  10. Abhishek Singharoy (Arizona State University)
  11. Klaas van Wijk (Cornell University)
  12. Junko Yano (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab)
  13. Jodi Young (University of Washington)

Registration fees
We have set the registration costs for attendees:

  • Faculty/PI – $400
  • Students and Postdocs – $300

Hotels near ASU

The UJBPW has been generously supported by these organizations and companies:

  • The MEXT (Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology) of Japan via the Grant-in-Aid for Transformative Research Areas (A) "Photosynthesis ubiquity: Supramolecular complexes and their regulations to enable photosynthesis all around the globe" (https://kaken.nii.ac.jp/en/grant/KAKENHI-AREA-23A305/)
  • The International Society for Photosynthesis Research (ISPR)